Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption
ASHA Kisan Swaraj

Schedule for “People’s Conference on Farmers’ Seed Rights”, July 13th 2019, Delhi


Saturday, July 13th 2019

India International Centre, Conference Room II, Max Mueller Marg, New Delhi

Programme Schedule


Timing Topic Speaker/Facilitator
10.00am to 10.30am Registration  
10.30am to 10.40am Welcome/Background/Introduction to the Conference Ms Kavitha Kuruganti, Alliance for Sustainable and Holistic Agriculture (ASHA)
10.40am to 10.55am Quick round of introductions All participants


Moderator: Shri Umendra Dutt, Kheti Virasat Mission

10.55am to 11.10am

(15 mts)

Attack on Farmers’ Seed Rights – narrating the PepsiCo India episode Shri Bipinbhai Patel, sued potato farmer


11.10am to 11.30am

(20 mts)

Lessons learnt – Questions left unanswered – Lacunae in the law/implementation Shri Kapil Shah, Beej Adhikaar Manch, Gujarat


Moderator: Shri Ashwani Mahajan, Co-Convenor, Swadeshi Jagran Manch

11.30am to 11.50am

(20 mts)

Farmers’ Seed Rights in India – Upholding the law (Protection of Plant Varieties & Farmers’ Rights Act & Treaty Obligations) Ms Shalini Bhutani, Policy & Legal Analyst
11.50am to 12 noon Q&A  
12 noon to 12.20pm

(20 mts)

Implementation of Farmers’ Rights – Roles, Responsibilities & Experiences Dr R C Agrawal, Registrar General, PPV&FR Authority, Government of India


Moderator: Dr Rajendra Khimani, Gujarat Association of Agricultural Scientists

12.20pm to 01.05pm (15 mts each) Indian Plant Varieties law in comparison to other countries Shri Afsar Jafri, GRAIN
WTO TRIPS & other international demands on IPR in seeds Prof Biswajit Dhar, Jawaharlal Nehru University
Why UPOV Convention is a bad idea for India Dr Suman Sahai, Gene Campaign
01.05pm to 01.30pm

(25 mts)

Q&A and Discussion


On the dais: Dr RC Agrawal, Dr Suman Sahai, Prof Biswajit Dhar, Shri Afsar Jafri

01.30pm to 02.30pm: LUNCH BREAK

ROUND TABLE DISCUSSION: What needs to be done to uphold farmers’ rights fully

02.30pm to 04.00pm

(3-4 mts per speaker)

  1. Shri M Prabhakara Rao, Member, PPV&FR Authority*
  2. Dr Kuldeep Singh, Member, Authority (Director, NBPGR)
  3. Shri Yudhvir Singh, ICCFM
  4. Shri Badrinarayan Chaudhary, BKS
  5. Shri Ashwani Mahajan, Swadeshi Jagaran Manch
  6. Representative of Punjab State Farmers Commission
  7. Representative of Department of Agriculture, Govt of Andhra Pradesh
  8. Shri Naresh Sirohi, BJP Kisan Morcha
  9. Shri Vasant Futane, Nagpur Beejotsav Group
  10. Shri Jagmohan Singh, BKU Dakaunda, Punjab
  11. Shri Soumik Banerjee/Shri Jacob Nellithanam, Bharat Beej Swaraj Manch
  12. Dr Venugopala Rao, Rythu Rakshana Vedika, AP
  13. Shri Avik Saha, Jai Kisan Andolan
  14. Shri Colin Gonsalves, Sr. Advocate, Supreme Court
  15. Shri Pasha Patel, Chair, Maharashtra State CACP*
  16. Ms Anuradha Talwar/Shri Swapan Ganguly, Paschim Banga Khet Mazoor Samithy
  17. Shri Anand Grover, Lawyers’ Collective
  18. Shri Manojbhai Solanki, Shree Ramkrusna Trust
  19. Rep. of All India Agragamee Kisan Sabha
  20. Rep. of All India Samyukta Kisan Sabha
  21. Com. Ramachandran, All India Krantikari Kisan Sabha
  22. Any others
Facilitated by Ms Soma Parthasarathy (MAKAAM), Shri Krishna Prasad (Sahaja Samrudha) & Shri Ananthoo (Safe Food Alliance)


4.00pm to 4.20pm Summary of day’s discussions and Plan of Action to be shared with GoI representative Ms Kavitha Kuruganti
4.20pm to 4.30pm Farmers’ Demands to Government Shri Yudhvir Singh & Shri Badrinarayan Chaudhary (5 mts each)
4.30pm to 4.55pm Remarks and Response from Shri Ashwani Kumar*, Joint Secretary Seeds, Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers’ Welfare  
4.55pm to 5.00pm Vote of Thanks Shri Ajay Etikala
5.00pm HIGH TEA  

*** Close ***

Leave a Reply

You are donating to : Support ASHA Kisan Swaraj

How much would you like to donate?
$10 $20 $30
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Additional Note